Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Two former Edinburgh Monarchs captains are battling to qualify for a place in next season’s Grand Prix events.

Glasgow Tigers’ No 1 Craig Cook has home track advantage as he battles to qualify for next season’s Grand Prix (GP) at the Peugeot Ashfield Stadium on Saturday, June 8.

And Eric Riss, who has been injured recently, both face tough opposition from a former world champion, the reigning World Under-21 title holder and multiple national title winners.

Australian ace Chris Holder, who topped the world in 2012, will be joined by Bartosz Smektala (Poland), the current world under-21 title holder, and Niels-Kristian Iversen from Denmark, a current GP rider and a finalist in this month’s opening
round in Warsaw.
Robert Lambert, the reigning British Champion and a Grand Prix reserve this season, is also in the star-studded field along with Denmark’s Hans Andersen, a multiple Grand Prix and World Cup winner.

Wolverhampton’s Swedish star Jacob Thorssel, a former Grand Prix wild card, is also listed along with former World Longtrack Champion Riss from Germany.

Former Glasgow and Berwick Bandits rider Dimitri Berge plus ex-Berwick star Tero Aarnio are also in while Kyle Bickley of Glasgow Tigers is named as one of two reserves.

Full line-up: Dimitri Berge (France), Rohan Tungate (Australia), Hans Andersen (Denmark), Craig Cook (Great Britain), Bartosz Smektala (Poland), Pontus Aspgren (Sweden), Tero Aarnio (Finland), Niels-Kristian Iversen (Denmark), Austin Novratil (USA), Glenn Moi (Norway), Robert Lambert (Great Britain), Sebastian Niedzwiedz (Poland), Nicolas Covtti (Italy), Chris Holder (Australia), Erik Riss (Germany), Jacob Thorssel (Sweden). Reserves:
Josh Bates and Kyle Bickley (both Great Britain).