Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Hibs secured a potentially valuable bonus Betfred Cup point on top of a 1-1 draw against Stirling Albion at Forthbank yesterday

Summer signings, Chris Maxwell, Tom James, Adam Jackson, Joe Newell and Christian Doidge made their competitive debuts along with Academy graduate Josh Campbell who scored the winning goal against Carlisle in midweek.

Returning fans’ favourite Scott Allan (pictured) signed from Celtic also started the game in front of an impressive 1692 Hibernian fans who made the 80-mile round trip to Stirling and watched as the team dominated possession in the first half.

Albion’s goalkeeper Blair Currie was in top form denying Allan, Campbell and Doidge with a string of fine save.

Just before the break, Hibs were awarded a penalty after Stevie Mallan’s free-kick rebounded back off Paul McLean’s arm.

Allan took responsibility and calmly stroked the ball into the bottom corner of the net to the delight of three-quarters of the spectators.

Doidge and Horgan both missed chances to extend Hibs advantage and it appeared only a matter of time before the visitors wrapped things up.

Currie dived low to deal with a superb strike from Steven Whittaker just before the ‘Binos’ equalised against the run of play in the 69th minute with superb first-time 25-yard strike from David Wilson.

Head Coach Paul Heckingbottom shuffled the pack two minutes later with Fraser Murray replacing Newell and the youngster almost settled the game in injury time but his strike flew just over.

Then in the dying seconds Currie fumbled a James shot then blocked the rebound from Doidge to take the game to a penalty shoot out.

Hibs subsequently won 5-4 with James, Horgan, Mallan, Whittaker and Murray all finding the net whilst Maxwell saved from Dominic Docherty and Craig Truesdale.

Hibs now face Alloa Athetic at Easter Road on Saturday.

Stirling Albion: Currie, McLean (Truesdale 58), McGregor, McGeachie, Lowdon, Jardine, Wilson, Docherty, Thomson, Willis (Peters 86), Hawke (Mackin 65). Unused substitutes: Banner, Scott, Heaver, Binnie.

Hibernian: Maxwell, Whittaker, Hanlon, Jackson, James, Campbell, Allan, Horgan, Doidge, Newell (Murray 72), Mallan. Unused substitutes: Marciano, McGregor, Shaw, Stirling, Mackie.

Crowd: 2184.

Referee: Greg Aitken.